Day 1

I woke up in the morning – grumpy, and generally wondering if this is really a good idea. Still, obligations are obligations and I trudged into town for my first baking session. After a necessary induction talk, I was ushered into the kitchen to attempt my first ever – Sugarless fruit cake. Well. It’s not really something I would like to eat, which explains why I’ve never made something like that before. But if it sells… *shrug* I would post the recipe, but I have promptly forgotten it. It did turn out well though.

Sugarless fruit cake

Sugarless Fruit cake

Then A, a jolly, motherly lady got me started on a Victorian sponge cake – with extra coconut. Aha! Now that’s what I’d be interested in. Then I had to make another one 3.5 times bigger. Well.

Coconut Victorian Sponge

Coconut sponge

Pity I didn’t get a chance to try them though. It would have been nice to see how they tasted. I do hope I didn’t poison anyone and they sell well. So there!

And so begins my foray as a volunteer baker in Newcastle.

Coconut Victorian Sponge

Coconut sponge

Sponge cake

4 oz. Butter

4 oz. Caster Sugar

2 eggs

1 tspn vanilla extract

4 oz. Self rising flour

Beat sugar and butter until light and fluffy and pale in colour. Add vanilla. Add whole eggs one by one, adding a tbsp of flour with each one. Mix. Add remaining flour and mix with a metal spoon. Bake at about 180 degrees for 20-30mins until done.

Alterations

Coconut – add 2 oz. of dessicated coconut and 1 tbpn of milk

Apple – cut and core apples, place them at the bottom of the tray and pile the mixture on.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 2,296 hits
